Seems like an interesting way to prioritize development of drivers

Installed SuSE 11.1 and just after the install it asked me if I wanted to report my system information to smolts.org.   Seems like a promising way to link up with others who have the same hardware, and find out what works and doesn’t work.  I recall from my SuSE 6.0 days (1999, I believe) finally getting my soundcard to work after finding someone who had the same motherboard.  But everything now almost always works out of the box, so I suspect that it will be used to decide which drivers to maintain, which to improve, and which to ultimately retire.  I just hope the driver for my 1996 Wacom ArtPad doesn’t get deep sixed…

Here’s my system hardware:

http://www.smolts.org/show?uuid=pub_6ff0f9b0-6fcd-4505-a31c-feab747084cf

Seems like an interesting way to prioritize development of drivers

Leave a Reply

