Can’t play your DVD on SuSE 11.1? (updated)

Probably you’ve installed opensuse 11.1, but don’t have some of your multimedia codecs working? Not to worry, you can get your codecs at the following link:

http://opensuse-community.org/Multimedia#Restricted_Multimedia_Formats_.28MP3.2C_MPEG-4.2C_etc..29

And if they are ever taken down there, just email me and I’ll post the rpms here…

Oh, and if you actually care about your rights to play mp3’s or watch DVD’s on linux oppose the ACTA...(see this post too: Obama, forgetting everything that matters)

Someone from the DCCC called me yesterday–I just said no and cited my reason is Obama’s support of the conitnued secrecy of the ACTA negoitiations.

Can’t play your DVD on SuSE 11.1? (updated)

7 thoughts on “Can’t play your DVD on SuSE 11.1? (updated)

  1. Ali Naqi says:

    I newly shifted to SUSE 11.1 from MS Windows. I’ve alrady used Red Hat 9, but there’s many difference in these two linux distributions. There’re not RPMs except ymp used by Yast. But in my office, we’re not connected to internet because of some security reasons. If you can put up RMP links or can mail me, I’ll be highly obliged.

  2. Here’s the list of repositories:

    http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.1/repo/non-oss (openSUSE-11.1-Non-Oss)
    http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.1/repo/oss (openSUSE-11.1-Oss)
    http://ftp.skynet.be/pub/packman/suse/11.1/ (Packman Repository)
    http://suse.linuxin.dk/repo/11.1/ (Libdvdcss repository)

    Here’s the list of packages:
    ffmpeg
    flash-player
    gst-fluendo-mp3
    k3b-codecs
    libdvdcss
    libxine1
    phonon-backend-xine
    w32codec-all

  3. IrishPikey5546 says:

    Thank you so much. I have followed many guides and yours was the only one that worked first go. I am an avid movie watcher and was tired of having to switch to windows vista (A OS I use only for some online MMO’s and a few other things). You are my new best friend.

  4. orlando ramirez says:

    Hi:
    could you please the rpms for suse codecs (suse 11.1)
    i thing these are the packs ffmpeg
    flash-player
    gst-fluendo-mp3
    k3b-codecs
    libdvdcss
    libxine1
    phonon-backend-xine
    w32codec-all
    thanks lot of

Leave a Reply

