Tipping point reached

As a follow-up to my post “The tipping Point” from 07 December 2007, it seems that several other sources have come to the same conclusion I had: that the eeePC represents a tipping point.

First, there is LinuxFormat magazine, from the U.K., in its edition no. 106 for May 2008. (Still not available in all US newstands. It also has an article that I am very interested in, about sustainable aspects of free software, which I’ll just have to wait for. Also note that back issues of Linuxformat are available as .pdfs here):


Cover of Linux Format Magazine Edition 106

And from IT wire:

Ubiquitous Linux, or, how to become a household commodity

by David M Williams Sunday, 01 June 2008

Whether it was to your taste or not, there’s no denying the ASUS Eee Linux subnotebook was a massive sales success. Demand far exceeded initial production so it’s not surprising competitor models are on their way. And here’s why the hardware manufacturers are going to bring Linux to the masses far in advance of any amount of Ubuntu fanboyism.

I remember 10 years ago when Java was massively hyped and people would say “show me this Java thing” and I really had no idea what they expected to see. I never thought “Look, see how I didn’t free that object? The garbage collector will handle it for me” would fly. I believe it is a similar story when our non-technical friends finally relent and ask to see Linux. “Look, you can browse the Internet using a web browser” similarly doesn’t quite hit the mark but “Look, this laptop cost me less than a hundred pounds” – now, that’s compelling.

Tipping point reached

Leave a Reply

